Research skills

Hi everyone!

I had my students working in the library today, and luckily most of them were working.  Hopefully they’ll all be in working order tomorrow.

Since my students are in research mode, I thought that I would talk about research skills.  I find that students really lack the skills necessary to do effective research.  It’s definitely something that we need to teach.  Students, as we all know, tend to use Google a lot, but there are also databases that are really good for research.  Podcasts and on-line magazines and newspapers are also great resources.  I try to encourage my students to use a variety of sources.

I also find that students  have trouble with citations.  I was able to find a great presentation on MLA format citations in French.  It’s so useful to have as a reference, especially for my Immersion classes.  I remember when I first found it, I was so excited and decided to show the students the presentation and go through the important points with them.  I told them not to use bibme.org.  Don’t get me wrong, I think it’s great, (I wish it were around when I was in school!) but if students don’t know what information needs to be input into the fields, the end result will be incorrect.  I’ve had students put web addresses that took up two to three lines on a page!  The other problem with Bibme for French is that accents don’t work. Students put them in but when they print, they turn out to be funny characters.  Once I explained my rationale for not using Bibme, they seemed to understand my point.

We’ll see how the research goes.  I’m hoping to get the plans for the grade 11/12 research project tomorrow.

Thanks for stopping by!

About Mme Martin

I am a high school French teacher in Ontario, Canada. I've been a teacher for the last 14 years and I love what I do. I am always looking for ways to improve my teaching by learning from my colleagues, reading, attending conferences and workshops. I also completed a Masters of Education degree, specializing in Second Language Acquisition. My goal is to increase students' oral fluency in French and I would like to share this journey with you in the hopes that you will find new ideas and be inspired to do the same. I will let you know what I try in my classes and what works and what doesn't. I hope you will find a wealth of ideas to use in your class.
This entry was posted in Education, French, High School, Teaching, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

