Sometimes technology fails….

Hi everyone!

I came to work today only to find out that the network was down. Not so bad unless you have booked your class into the library to do research on their projects for the ISU’s! So, with no working computers available and no lesson plan, I had to come up with something to occupy them for 75 minutes. I decided to show them a movie, because even though I saw the value in continuing with the subjunctive of irregular verbs, my students unfortunately did not. I showed them the film The Rocket for a couple of reasons. First, it takes place rougly around the same time as the play we just finished reading, Zone. During our discussion of the play, we talked about how Anglophones at the time were the patrons and the Francophones were part of the classe ouvrière, which is something that can be seen in the movie. The second reason why the film was appropriate was because their ISU is to do research on a famous North American Francophone, and one of my students is going to do a project on Maurice Richard. The film is great if you’d like your class to be exposed to the québécois accent. I think it’s important for them to hear different French accents.

Here’s the trailer:

I felt bad that one research period just went up in smoke, but “c’est la vie!” They still have tomorrow and Friday in the library. Hopefully we won’t run into this kind of snag again.

Thanks for stopping by!

About Mme Martin

I am a high school French teacher in Ontario, Canada. I've been a teacher for the last 14 years and I love what I do. I am always looking for ways to improve my teaching by learning from my colleagues, reading, attending conferences and workshops. I also completed a Masters of Education degree, specializing in Second Language Acquisition. My goal is to increase students' oral fluency in French and I would like to share this journey with you in the hopes that you will find new ideas and be inspired to do the same. I will let you know what I try in my classes and what works and what doesn't. I hope you will find a wealth of ideas to use in your class.
This entry was posted in Education, French, High School, Teaching, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

