The song was a hit!

Hi everyone!

As mentioned in yesterday’s post, my mise en train today was Willy Denzey’s song “Et si tu n’existais pas…”.  I introduced him by explaining that he grew up in France, but is of Laotian descent.  I got a little cry of joy from one side of the room.  I asked the student if she knew the singer and she said no.  Then I asked: “Tu viens de Laos?”  and she said “Oui!”  I love it when my French students can make personal connections to what we’re doing in class.  France and French culture becomes something that is relevant to them.

I explained to them that it is an R’n’B song that was popular in France a few years ago.  I had them fill in all the missing imparfait and conditionnel verbs.  They loved the song.  We heard it twice.  I had one student continually saying how much she loved the song and that she was going to download it.  When it was over, I showed them that on the right hand side of the screen, there was a video for the song “L’orphelin” and I mentioned that this song was very popular in France as well.   “Est-ce qu’on peut l’écouter, madame?”  I wasn’t going to say no to that!  Canadian teenagers wanting to hear French music… That’s a sign of success to me…

The one thing I was worried about was the fact that every single imparfait verb is “existais”.  I would have liked a variety of verbs, but I think it might be OK because it was repeating it over and over and I find that students tend to remember songs, so hopefully they will remember that si is followed by the imparfait.

Thanks for stopping by!

About Mme Martin

I am a high school French teacher in Ontario, Canada. I've been a teacher for the last 14 years and I love what I do. I am always looking for ways to improve my teaching by learning from my colleagues, reading, attending conferences and workshops. I also completed a Masters of Education degree, specializing in Second Language Acquisition. My goal is to increase students' oral fluency in French and I would like to share this journey with you in the hopes that you will find new ideas and be inspired to do the same. I will let you know what I try in my classes and what works and what doesn't. I hope you will find a wealth of ideas to use in your class.
This entry was posted in Education, French, High School, Teaching and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The song was a hit!

  1. nickyab says:

    Coucou, les paroles de cette chanson n’ont elles pas été écrites par Joe Dassin? Je peux me tromper bien sûr. Bien amicalement.

Leave a Reply

