Cooperative learning task for conditional sentences

Happy Monday everyone!

I wanted to start off the week with a fun and interactive activity for my grade 9 Immersion class.  I did an activity called «Si j’enchaînais les si….».  Basically, I give each group of four students a piece of chart paper and a marker.  I put a sentence starter on the board such as «S’il faisait chaud,…».  They need to create a chain of conditionnal sentences using the one I give them.  So, for example, they could write:

«S’il faisait chaud, j’irais à la plage.»

The main clause now becomes the subordinate clause:

«Si j’allais à la plage, je nagerais

They keep going like this for 10 minutes.  I use online-stopwatch.com to project the time on the screen so that they can see exactly how much time they have left.  When the time is up, we post them around the room and I allot 2 points per sentence.  The group with the most number of points wins.  The prize today was organic lollipops, which unfortunately didn’t go over too well! I think they must have thought they wouldn’t taste good, but I wouldn’t feel comfortable giving them the lollipops with food colouring.  And the organic ones really are good.  Oh well, I tried… At least the activity went well!

Tomorrow I have another interactive activity planned for them to practice conditional sentences.

À demain!

About Mme Martin

I am a high school French teacher in Ontario, Canada. I've been a teacher for the last 14 years and I love what I do. I am always looking for ways to improve my teaching by learning from my colleagues, reading, attending conferences and workshops. I also completed a Masters of Education degree, specializing in Second Language Acquisition. My goal is to increase students' oral fluency in French and I would like to share this journey with you in the hopes that you will find new ideas and be inspired to do the same. I will let you know what I try in my classes and what works and what doesn't. I hope you will find a wealth of ideas to use in your class.
This entry was posted in Education, French, High School, Teaching and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cooperative learning task for conditional sentences

  1. Kimberley says:

    OK, this one is great too…I’m having fun reading your blog! This is a neat activity. How long had you studied le conditional before introducing les phrases conditionnelles?

    • Mme Martin says:

      Hi Kimberely,
      I’m glad you’re getting some ideas for your classes! I usually take about 3-5 class periods, depending on how well the class is understanding le conditionnel, and then I would give them a formative quiz, just to make sure they understand it before moving on to conditional sentences. I hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

