Exit cards

Hi everyone!

Do any of you use exit cards?  I have to admit that I haven’t done it once in any of my classes (shh…don’t tell my admin!)  I guess it’s because I don’t see myself reading little slips of paper each day of what they learned.  I simply don’t have time for that.  What am I supposed to do with the information?  I’m a pretty environmentally conscious person as well, so to photocopy that many pieces of paper seems like a waste to me, especially since I don’t see the value.  On the other hand, I see the value in formative assessments and I use them all the time.  If students don’t do well on them, I can take action.  I can modify my lessons plans or I can have them come in for extra help and it really works.  I don’t see what action I can take to help students by using exit cards.  Answering a few questions they may have?  For those of you who use exit cards, is it worth it?

It’s not that I haven’t thought about doing exit cards, but in more creative (and environmentally friendly) ways.  I thought about using Twitter, for instance.  I have to admit, I’m still not using Twitter.  I opened an account for classroom purposes only and I never use it.  I like the idea of Twitter in that students would be writing in French.  They would have to be short and to the point and writing all the time.  I figured that they’re using it all the time anyways.  Why not have them take a minute to post what they learned in class or what questions they still have?

Then I thought about a blog for my students only.  They could comment on short posts about the day’s lesson.  I think I’d be more likely to read their comments on a blog.  The only problem is I’m not sure if they’d actually visit the blog to comment.  I think it would be the same issue with Twitter.

So, it’s back to the drawing board…

I’d love to hear if you use exit cards and why you find them to be valuable.

About Mme Martin

I am a high school French teacher in Ontario, Canada. I've been a teacher for the last 14 years and I love what I do. I am always looking for ways to improve my teaching by learning from my colleagues, reading, attending conferences and workshops. I also completed a Masters of Education degree, specializing in Second Language Acquisition. My goal is to increase students' oral fluency in French and I would like to share this journey with you in the hopes that you will find new ideas and be inspired to do the same. I will let you know what I try in my classes and what works and what doesn't. I hope you will find a wealth of ideas to use in your class.
This entry was posted in Education, French, High School, Teaching and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Exit cards

  1. I think it would be an interesting experiment to find out how the response quality & the response rate compare between online & unplugged opportunities to “check for understanding.” To cut down on the paper waste, I’ve been using GOOS paper (good on one side) which would otherwise be destined just for recycling anyhow.

    And you don’t have to keep the exit tickets indefinitely, I don’t think. It can provide a quick opportunity for some specific feedback to only the key students who need it, returned to them the next class.

Leave a Reply

