Dynamic lesson plan today!

Hi everyone!

I planned a pretty dynamic lesson today in my grade 9 Immersion class.  We started off with a mise en train, as usual.  I did this one for my kinesthetic learners.  I have a set of Veritech boards.  If you’ve never seen them or heard of them, they are a great tool for use in class.  Basically, there is a case with a green bottom and clear plastic top.  In the case, there are tiles.  On the one side, there is a number (1-12).  On the back of each tile is a different shape and colour.  The way I use them is for matching activities.  The numbers on the green board are the questions and the numbers on the tiles are the answers.  So for instance, if I create a sentence such as:

1. Tu ______ au hockey chaque samedi.

there would be an answer on the right hand side of the sheet that students need to find.  If the answer is:

4. jouais

they put tile number 4 in slot number one on the board.  Students keep on going this way until they are done.  When they are done, the close the board, flip it, and open it again.  This time, the colours are face up instead of the numbers.  They raise their hands when they’re done and I go and look at the pattern.  I know in advance what the pattern is and I can see immediately if they got all the right answers.  If not, I tell them which questions they need to look at again.  They work in partners so it’s also a cooperative activity.  There is no writing involved, just figuring out the right answers.  My students really like it.

Handy tip: Have the students put the tiles back in order before they give it back to you.  That way they’ll be ready to go for the next time you use them.

The next activity was for my visual learners.  It was one I found on Le point du FLE.  It is an activity where you show a clip from the movie Amélie.  There is a description of the events on the website and students must decide between the imparfait and the passé composé.  It was challenging for them, but I think the constant reinforcement is helping.  We’ll see how the quiz goes tomorrow!

Next was my introduction to Zone.  This came from a teacher in another school and it’s great for introducing the themes.  Students must match images with the words and definitions.  The images are ones that they will encounter in the play, as well as the themes of the play.  I then get them to look at the images and to start putting the pieces together to make predictions about the plot.  It works really well.

Thanks for stopping by!

About Mme Martin

I am a high school French teacher in Ontario, Canada. I've been a teacher for the last 14 years and I love what I do. I am always looking for ways to improve my teaching by learning from my colleagues, reading, attending conferences and workshops. I also completed a Masters of Education degree, specializing in Second Language Acquisition. My goal is to increase students' oral fluency in French and I would like to share this journey with you in the hopes that you will find new ideas and be inspired to do the same. I will let you know what I try in my classes and what works and what doesn't. I hope you will find a wealth of ideas to use in your class.
This entry was posted in Education, French, High School, Teaching and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dynamic lesson plan today!

  1. Your classes sound like so much fun, I want to be in them!

Leave a Reply

