Planning ahead…

I’m starting to plan for next year already.  We are introducing our grade 12 Immersion class in September and I’m trying to get a jump start.  I ordered the books and now I’m starting to read plays and novels that I read when I was in high school.  I need to refresh my memory!

I hope the students will enjoy what we’ve chosen.  We’re doing Cyrano de Bergerac and Jean de Florette.  It’s interesting how times have changed though…

I read Jean de Florette in grade 11 and Manon des Sources in grade 12.  I also read Le Matou (over 640 pages!),  Le malade imaginaire, Bousille et les justes and Manon Lescaut in that course.  Looking back, I really don’t know how we managed to pull that off!  I do remember my teacher passing out Le Matou and the utter shock I felt when I saw this huge novel sitting on my desk.  In our course, we’re only doing the two and hoping to get through the material.  Interesting, isn’t it?

I remember really liking  Jean de Florette when I read it.  I’m hoping to bring the love that I have for the novel and for Pagnol to the classroom and maybe, my students will appreciate it too.

About Mme Martin

I am a high school French teacher in Ontario, Canada. I've been a teacher for the last 14 years and I love what I do. I am always looking for ways to improve my teaching by learning from my colleagues, reading, attending conferences and workshops. I also completed a Masters of Education degree, specializing in Second Language Acquisition. My goal is to increase students' oral fluency in French and I would like to share this journey with you in the hopes that you will find new ideas and be inspired to do the same. I will let you know what I try in my classes and what works and what doesn't. I hope you will find a wealth of ideas to use in your class.
This entry was posted in Education, French, High School, Teaching and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

