Spontaneous speaking activity: Part 2

Yesterday I introduced my grade 11/12 students to some French idiomatic expressions.  They actually enjoyed learning about the expressions and kept asking for more.  Today, I did the activity I mentioned in yesterday’s post.  I had students pick a partner.  They then chose an expression from an envelope and I asked them to figure out the meaning of the expression.  There were expressions like “être une vraie fourmi” or “avaler des couleuvres”.  The next step was for them to create a dialogue that used the expression in such a way that the other students in the class would be able to guess what the expression means.

This activity worked really well.  I was happy that they were engaged and that they were coming up with dialogues on the spot.

Thank you to the authors of the book 70 activités motivantes de communication orale, Thierry Kasenti and Simon Collin for the great activity!  I can’t wait to try some more from the book.

Bon week-end à tous!

About Mme Martin

I am a high school French teacher in Ontario, Canada. I've been a teacher for the last 14 years and I love what I do. I am always looking for ways to improve my teaching by learning from my colleagues, reading, attending conferences and workshops. I also completed a Masters of Education degree, specializing in Second Language Acquisition. My goal is to increase students' oral fluency in French and I would like to share this journey with you in the hopes that you will find new ideas and be inspired to do the same. I will let you know what I try in my classes and what works and what doesn't. I hope you will find a wealth of ideas to use in your class.
This entry was posted in Education, French, High School, Teaching and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spontaneous speaking activity: Part 2

  1. Joyce says:

    Dear Mme Martin,
    Thank you for your blog and the many wonderful ideas and resources you are taking the time to share!
    I found an excellent website of French idiomatic expressions (and from different francophone countries) accompanied with illustrations, which would work well with the class activity you are mentioning here. Hope it is helpful!
    http://www.tv5.org/cms/chaine-francophone/lf/p-11171-Les-expressions-imagees-d-Archibald.htm

Leave a Reply

