Literacy circles

Today my grade 9 Immersion class did the first partage of their literacy circle tasks.  I gave them about 10 minutes at the beginning of the period.  They have 3 more tasks to go, so we’ll be finishing the novel they are working on  over the next week and a half.

The reason I like this activity so much is that each task is different and offers a good variety (chapter summary, illustration, vocabulary, research) and they get to speak in French to each other for 10 minutes in French.  I like to encourage them to speak as spontaneously as possible.  So, I ask the students doing the summaries to explain the chapters to the other members of their group instead of reading what they wrote.  I also have the illustrators show their drawings and have the others guess what they’ve drawn.

It went really well today and the students spoke in French for the entire 10 minutes that it took to accomplish the task.  I was really happy with the end result.  Tomorrow they will be continuing with the second task which is due on Monday.

Thanks for stopping by!

 

About Mme Martin

I am a high school French teacher in Ontario, Canada. I've been a teacher for the last 14 years and I love what I do. I am always looking for ways to improve my teaching by learning from my colleagues, reading, attending conferences and workshops. I also completed a Masters of Education degree, specializing in Second Language Acquisition. My goal is to increase students' oral fluency in French and I would like to share this journey with you in the hopes that you will find new ideas and be inspired to do the same. I will let you know what I try in my classes and what works and what doesn't. I hope you will find a wealth of ideas to use in your class.
This entry was posted in Education, French, High School, Teaching, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

