Information gap activity: The regions of France

My grade 11 Core French class is working on a travel and tourism theme.  As my mise en train today, I  did an information gap activity from the book Parle-moi un peu! by Neu and Reeser.  This book is really great.  I’ve mentioned it before in another post.

I had students work in partners and I put two stapled file folders between them, to create a barrier.  Both students had maps of France, but the one had half of the regions missing and the other map had the other half.  They were to use expressions such as “à l’est de”, “au bord de” and “à la frontière de” to explain which region belonged where and used questions like “Où est…” or “Où se trouve…” They filled in the entire map based on their partners’ explanations.  They were speaking entirely in French for a full 20 minutes to complete the activity.  I loved it because they were using the target language for an extended period of time and because the vocabulary they were using is useful if they ever do travel to a francophone region.

In one of my workshops at the OMLTA conference, they recommended that 60% of class time be devoted to oral communication activities.  I don’t think I quite met that objective today, but 20 minutes of continuous talk was a good start.

In my grade 9 French immersion class, we were working on reviewing l’ordre des pronoms, so I created a Smartboard activity to practice, similar to the one I had done a couple of weeks ago, only this time, I used all the pronouns.

Even though the last time I did the activity, I had mentioned in my post that wanted more students involved with it.  I was thinking about it all day yesterday, but decided instead to have students give me the sentences orally and then I would move the squares around myself.  I think it worked better this way, but I still think I need to figure out something else.

About Mme Martin

I am a high school French teacher in Ontario, Canada. I've been a teacher for the last 14 years and I love what I do. I am always looking for ways to improve my teaching by learning from my colleagues, reading, attending conferences and workshops. I also completed a Masters of Education degree, specializing in Second Language Acquisition. My goal is to increase students' oral fluency in French and I would like to share this journey with you in the hopes that you will find new ideas and be inspired to do the same. I will let you know what I try in my classes and what works and what doesn't. I hope you will find a wealth of ideas to use in your class.
This entry was posted in Education, French, High School, Teaching and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Information gap activity: The regions of France

  1. Elodie says:

    Thank you for your blog, it’s been very inspiring! I have a question about your map info-gap activity. Do both students have any overlap regions/departements to use as a starting point? If not, what starting tips did you give them to begin? Merci!

  2. Mme Martin says:

    Yes, they both have Bourgogne on their maps as a starting point.

Leave a Reply

