Teaching Le Bourgeois Gentilhomme

Hello everyone!

Today I finished the pre-reading activities I had planned in my Grade 11 Core French class on Le Bourgeois Gentilhomme.  My students really enjoyed the film Molière, and so I had them do some research on Molière’s actual life, as well as l’Ancien Régime.  I find that these activities help give them context around the play and contribute to their ability to understand Molière’s purpose.

Le Bourgeois Gentilhomme is really one of my favourite pieces of literature.  It is so well written and amusing.  I remember enjoying it when I first read it in my grade 10 French class.  I remember finding the language a bit challenging at the time, but I remember understanding what I was reading.  My teacher also showed us a film version of the play.  I remember thinking at the time that it was such a great interpretation of the film.  I was so proud of myself for tracking down a copy of the film in France and ordering it.  I started to watch it and couldn’t get past the first 10 minutes.  The acting was horrible!  It reminded me of a Frasier episode…

So, I was on a quest to find a better film version of the play and I did.  It isn’t 100% faithful to the original text, but at least it is a more recent with better acting and lovely sets and costumes.  At least students enjoy this one.  I found it at amazon.fr.  It comes with L’Avare and Le Malade imaginaire, which I have yet to watch.  They are two more films that I need to add to my summer viewing line up.

About Mme Martin

I am a high school French teacher in Ontario, Canada. I've been a teacher for the last 14 years and I love what I do. I am always looking for ways to improve my teaching by learning from my colleagues, reading, attending conferences and workshops. I also completed a Masters of Education degree, specializing in Second Language Acquisition. My goal is to increase students' oral fluency in French and I would like to share this journey with you in the hopes that you will find new ideas and be inspired to do the same. I will let you know what I try in my classes and what works and what doesn't. I hope you will find a wealth of ideas to use in your class.
This entry was posted in Education, French, High School, Teaching and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

