Ciné-modules….

Hi everyone!

I’ve been showing my classes some films recently, namely Molière, Marius and Fanny.   We’ve been adding to our DVD collection at my school and I’ve purchased Les mains en l’air, Monsieur Lazhar, La gloire de mon père, Le château de ma mère, Jean de Florette, Manon des sources, TintinParis je t’aime and Entre les murs to name a few.  A friend of mine suggested a series written byAnne-Christine Rice.  Basically it is a series of teachers’ manuals and student guides for studying French films.  They include vocabulary, cultural notes, ideas for writing assignments, ideas for conversations, analyzing photos, analyzing scenes and analyzing quotes.  All the work has been done for you!

I just received my copy of Jean de Florette: Cahier du professeur in the mail today.  I’m not teaching the novel until next year for the first time, so I’m excited to use this resource.  I’ve ordered the student copy for Jean de Florette, and both resources for Manon des Sources.  I ordered Cyrano de Bergerac too since we are teaching that next year as well.  At the back of the Cahier du professeur for Jean de Florette, it states that there is a guide for Au revoir, les enfants, but it doesn’t seem to available at Amazon Canada.  Hopefully I’ll be able to track a copy down somewhere.  It would definitely come in handy since we teach the text in one of our courses.

Ms. Rice also has books called Cinema for French Conversation.  I haven’t ordered these (just yet!).  I would also need to get the accompanying films.  I’m sure these books would come in handy too.

I hope these resources will be helpful to you.

À demain!

About Mme Martin

I am a high school French teacher in Ontario, Canada. I've been a teacher for the last 14 years and I love what I do. I am always looking for ways to improve my teaching by learning from my colleagues, reading, attending conferences and workshops. I also completed a Masters of Education degree, specializing in Second Language Acquisition. My goal is to increase students' oral fluency in French and I would like to share this journey with you in the hopes that you will find new ideas and be inspired to do the same. I will let you know what I try in my classes and what works and what doesn't. I hope you will find a wealth of ideas to use in your class.
This entry was posted in Education, French, High School, Teaching and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

