OMLTA conference

I went to the OMLTA conference today at the Doubletree Hotel and I had such a great time.  It’s always nice to meet new people and reconnect with old friends.

I went to some really great workshops.  I tried to choose workshops that focused on both increasing oral fluency, of course, and differentiation.  There were so many great ideas that there are too many to share in a single post, so I will share the resources that I picked up and that were recommended by some of the presenters.

The first one is 70 activités motivantes de communication orale by Thierry Karsenti et Simon Collin, available through Chenelière Éducation.  As I flipped through the book, I noticed some really great activities that I can take right to the classroom.  It has clear explanations with all the materials needed to carry out the activities in the book. I can’t wait to use some of the ideas.

The next three books come from a company I had never heard of before, Éditions «À Reproduire».  They had two huge tables laid out with so many different spiral bound books.  I ended up buying HomophonesTon défi: parler français! and Le français, ma langue seconde.

Homophones is geared towards grades 3-6, but I bought it anyhow, because it just has exercises where the students need to decide between “a” and “à”, or “met”, “mets”, “mais” and “mes”.  My grade 9 immersion students make these types of errors all the time, so I thought that this book would serve as good warm-up activities.

Ton défi: parler français! has speaking activities that I thought would be good for grade 9 Core french students.  Again, it’s geared towards 6-8, but I still think the activities would work because they focus on concepts that we work on in grade 9, such as forming questions, future tense and food vocabulary.

The last one, Le français, ma langue seconde, has a bit of everything.  Some more exercises on homonyms, some short readings along with comprehension questions, grammar exercises, spelling and vocabulary.

The last resource is free to download from Oxford University Press’ website.  It’s a document called Road Map to Parlons Ensemble! It’s a document that has ideas on how to increase and integrate oral communication in the classroom.  I can’t wait to read it.

I’ll be going to the conference again tomorrow morning, so hopefully I’ll have some more great ideas for you.

Bonne fin de semaine à vous tous!

About Mme Martin

I am a high school French teacher in Ontario, Canada. I've been a teacher for the last 14 years and I love what I do. I am always looking for ways to improve my teaching by learning from my colleagues, reading, attending conferences and workshops. I also completed a Masters of Education degree, specializing in Second Language Acquisition. My goal is to increase students' oral fluency in French and I would like to share this journey with you in the hopes that you will find new ideas and be inspired to do the same. I will let you know what I try in my classes and what works and what doesn't. I hope you will find a wealth of ideas to use in your class.
This entry was posted in Education, French, High School, Teaching, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

