Formative assessment and descriptive feedback

Hi everyone!

Sorry for the late post today, but it was one crazy day… Today, all across Ontario, grade 10 students wrote a literacy test, so we were running around making sure that everything went smoothly.  Thankfully, all went well.  Then, we were running around to get ready for parent-teacher interviews.  What a day…

I also spent yesterday evening on marking rough drafts for some assignments and some formative tests.

My grade 9 immersion class is working on transforming one of the short stories that we read into either a movie trailer or a comic strip.  I had a look at their rough drafts to make sure that they’re on the right track.  I can’t wait to see the end results.  They get really creative and some of them are so good with technology, they do some amazing things.

They also did a formative test yesterday.  The goal was to give them an opportunity to practice the types of questions that will be on Monday’s unit test.  The test was divided up into three sections: True / False, Short answer and essay question.  We corrected the first two parts in class together and then I had them hand in the test so that I could give them feedback on the essay question.  I’m so glad that I took the time to do that.  I was able to give them feedback and advice on what they had written.  I also assigned them a mark for each category (Thinking, Communication and Application), so it gave them an idea on what areas they need to work on for Monday’s test.  The common issue was justifying their answers with proof from the text.  Hopefully, my feedback was sufficient enough to help them along.

Tomorrow I’m going to a conference I haven’t been to in a few years.  It is the Ontario Modern Language Teachers’ Assocation (OMLTA) conference.  There are also a lot of vendors at the conference, so I have a feeling that I’ll be spending quite a bit of money…

I’ll tell you all about it tomorrow evening!

About Mme Martin

I am a high school French teacher in Ontario, Canada. I've been a teacher for the last 14 years and I love what I do. I am always looking for ways to improve my teaching by learning from my colleagues, reading, attending conferences and workshops. I also completed a Masters of Education degree, specializing in Second Language Acquisition. My goal is to increase students' oral fluency in French and I would like to share this journey with you in the hopes that you will find new ideas and be inspired to do the same. I will let you know what I try in my classes and what works and what doesn't. I hope you will find a wealth of ideas to use in your class.
This entry was posted in Education, French, High School, Teaching and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

