Yabla video to introduce a new unit

My students in my combined grades 11/12 class wrote their unit tests yesterday.  So today, I got to start a brand new unit.  The theme is travel and their first reading deals with all the different programs that exist to help students improve their French.  So, I decided that this would be a great opportunity to show them a Yabla video entitled “Allons en France — Pourquoi apprendre le français?”  It just fits in so well with the first reading.

This video is great in that it shows young people from a wide variety of cultures talking about the value and importance of learning French.  I don’t need to convince this particular group of students on its importance, but it’s always nice to remind them once in a while!

I copied the transcript, which is conveniently already provided to you on the site, and deleted some verbs so that students could fill them in as they listened.  I also asked a few comprehension questions based on the video.   I also like for them to see the grammatical concepts that we learn in class being used in context.

Thanks for reading!

About Mme Martin

I am a high school French teacher in Ontario, Canada. I've been a teacher for the last 14 years and I love what I do. I am always looking for ways to improve my teaching by learning from my colleagues, reading, attending conferences and workshops. I also completed a Masters of Education degree, specializing in Second Language Acquisition. My goal is to increase students' oral fluency in French and I would like to share this journey with you in the hopes that you will find new ideas and be inspired to do the same. I will let you know what I try in my classes and what works and what doesn't. I hope you will find a wealth of ideas to use in your class.
This entry was posted in Education, French, High School, Teaching and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

