L’homme qui plantait des arbres: Vidéo de Frédéric Back

Happy Friday everyone!

I finished reading through L’homme qui plantait des arbres with my grade 11 Core French class yesterday and I thought that a nice Friday afternoon activity would be to watch the animated film created by Frédéric Back.  The grade 12 class didn’t study it, so it gave them an opportunity to familiarize themselves with the story.  I have to admit, I was a little hesitant, just because it is an animation that was created in 1987.  It isn’t fast-paced or in high definition with vibrant colours, and it is 30 minutes long.  I thought to myself: “Am I asking for trouble?”  I did it anyways because they I thought it would be a good listening activity. To my surprise, they said that they liked it!  I think it was the story that intrigued them more than anything.

Here are some sample images from the film:

I was looking on-line for a version that was fairly clear and not only did I find one, I found one with English subtitles, just to help the grade twelves follow along since they hadn’t read it.

Here is the link to the video:

L’homme qui plantait des arbres

Enjoy!

Have a lovely weekend!

About Mme Martin

I am a high school French teacher in Ontario, Canada. I've been a teacher for the last 14 years and I love what I do. I am always looking for ways to improve my teaching by learning from my colleagues, reading, attending conferences and workshops. I also completed a Masters of Education degree, specializing in Second Language Acquisition. My goal is to increase students' oral fluency in French and I would like to share this journey with you in the hopes that you will find new ideas and be inspired to do the same. I will let you know what I try in my classes and what works and what doesn't. I hope you will find a wealth of ideas to use in your class.
This entry was posted in Education, French, High School, Teaching and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to L’homme qui plantait des arbres: Vidéo de Frédéric Back

  1. Isabel Marant’s signature wedge sneakers have fast become the must-have off-duty shoe, and her collections now boast an irresistible portfolio of different styles. We love this Colorful Bekket Wedge Leather and wear yours with jeans and a shoulder bag for the ultimate downtown look.

Leave a Reply

