Literacy in FSL: A useful resource for teachers

There is a useful resource that was released a few years ago by Pearson Education called Making Connections: Effective literacy practices in FSL. The description on the website says Grades 4-8, but I think that it must be a mistake.  I use many of the fiches and the ideas with my classes in grades 9-12.  I’ve even been to workshops for the resource with one of the authors who was presenting to a secondary panel.

There are 5 Big Ideas that are outlined in the resource:

1. Engaging and Motivating Students

2. Integrating Oral Language

3. Developing Language Awareness

4.  Assessing and Differentiating

5.  Activating Strategies

I just love this book.  It really encourages teachers to reflect on their practice by providing Professional Learning Surveys at the end of each chapter.  It is very user friendly and easy to read.  There is also an e-book that includes videos of FSL teachers demonstrating effective practices and provides practical tips and strategies.

One useful resource I got out of the book is something called a Plus-Minus-Interesting Chart.  It’s great because it really helps students develop their critical thinking skills.  The “plus” refers to a positive aspect, the “minus” refers to a negative aspect and the “interesting” refers to the students’ observations about the positive and negative aspects of whatever it is you’d like them to focus on.  I use it at strategic points during novel studies and I find that it really gets students thinking about what they are reading in different ways.  They need to analyze the information, rather than just read for comprehension.

There are so many great ideas in this book and I will definitely be referring to it from time to time.

Thanks for stopping by!

About Mme Martin

I am a high school French teacher in Ontario, Canada. I've been a teacher for the last 14 years and I love what I do. I am always looking for ways to improve my teaching by learning from my colleagues, reading, attending conferences and workshops. I also completed a Masters of Education degree, specializing in Second Language Acquisition. My goal is to increase students' oral fluency in French and I would like to share this journey with you in the hopes that you will find new ideas and be inspired to do the same. I will let you know what I try in my classes and what works and what doesn't. I hope you will find a wealth of ideas to use in your class.
This entry was posted in Education, French, High School, Teaching and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

