Bilingualism makes you smarter!

I thought I’d use today’s post to refer  you to an  article from the New York Times, which was passed on to me by a friend, touting the benefits of bilingualism .  It talks about how learning a second language benefits the cognitive functions of the brain and prevents dementia later on in life.  Being a former student of a Second Language Acquisition Graduate program, I found this article fascinating.

I find that as a teacher of French, I am constantly having to convince students of the value of learning a second language, and particularly the value of French here in Canada. Because French is an elective after grade 9 here in Ontario, we try hard to explain to students that French helps people get jobs and get higher paying jobs.   I’ve heard just recently that it even helps people get accepted into university in some cases.  It is a skill that can be used in many different areas, no matter what path they choose in life.  We notice that we have a great deal of attrition in our courses, much of it due to the fact that there are usually conflicts with the Advanced Placement courses, and naturally, AP always wins… Another issue we’re trying to tackle is retaining boys in our classes.  I only have three of them in my grade 11/12 class.

We do our best to motivate them and make our classes fun and interesting.  I find that students want to see progress in their speaking skills most and this is why I try to incorporate authentic speaking activities, like the one I did yesterday as much as possible.

I hope you enjoy the article as much as I did.   I think a copy may just end up on our bulletin board…

Thanks for stopping by!

About Mme Martin

I am a high school French teacher in Ontario, Canada. I've been a teacher for the last 14 years and I love what I do. I am always looking for ways to improve my teaching by learning from my colleagues, reading, attending conferences and workshops. I also completed a Masters of Education degree, specializing in Second Language Acquisition. My goal is to increase students' oral fluency in French and I would like to share this journey with you in the hopes that you will find new ideas and be inspired to do the same. I will let you know what I try in my classes and what works and what doesn't. I hope you will find a wealth of ideas to use in your class.
This entry was posted in Education, French, High School, Teaching and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Bilingualism makes you smarter!

  1. rosemarymolly says:

    Reblogged this on Un café, s'il vous plaît. and commented:
    This is my kind of article!!

  2. rosemarymolly says:

    Thanks for the article link! I will definitely read into that one 🙂

  3. teganss says:

    Reblogged this on Toutes Les Couleurs du Ciel and commented:
    Yes! This article is brilliant. I’m currently doing my major Research Project for school on the topic of the ‘psychological benefits of learning a second language’. This is perfect

  4. jaimecowdry says:

    Reblogged this on Jaime Cowdry and commented:
    interesting… for all you who ask why on earth I study Spanish alongside art. This seems as good a reason as any!

    • Emily says:

      I ha™âve€nt checked in here for some time as I thought it was finding boring, but the last few posts are excellent quality so I guess I’ll add you back to my everyday bloglist. You deserve it my friend

    • Ã… herlighet, gammelsalta sei er noe av det aller aller beste jeg vet om. Jeg fÃ¥r bare spist det en sjelden gang. Det er sÃ¥ nydelig!

    • This is too disgusting for words! The Venezuelan Govt. silence is probably not due to electoral considerations, but rather to appease “good friends” Lula/Roussef. In any event, its unconscionable, but typical of this anti-Venezuela regime. The last missionaries in that region were expelled by Chavez some years ago as “CIA agents.” Too bad for the Yanomamis, since they may have served as some protection against the Garimpeiros, who probably wouldn’t have risked an international incident of that scope.

  5. Useful info. Lucky me I discovered your web site accidentally, and I’m stunned why this accident didn’t happened in advance!

    I bookmarked it.

  6. Kaylee says:

    I have been surfing on-line greater than three hours lately, but I by
    no means found any attention-grabbing article like yours.
    It is beautiful value sufficient for me. In my view, if all webmasters and bloggers made
    excellent content as you probably did, the net will probably
    be a lot more helpful than ever before.

  7. Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a few of
    the pictures aren’t loading correctly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking
    issue. I’ve tried it in two different web browsers and both show the same results.

  8. website says:

    Quality articles is the key to interest the users to pay a
    quick visit the website, that’s what this web site is providing.

  9. My family always say that I am wasting my time here at net,
    except I know I am getting know-how all the time
    by reading such good posts.

  10. Excellent post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m
    impressed! Very helpful information particularly the last part
    🙂 I care for such info a lot. I was seeking this certain info
    for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

Leave a Reply

