Speaking in French-an authentic speaking activity

Hi everyone!

It’s the first day back from March Break and I decided to change my mise en train this morning as I was getting ready for work.  I was going to do my French idiom activity with my combined grade 11 /12 class, but I find that the first day back, students haven’t seen each other for a week and have a lot of catching up to do.  They always want to talk to each other so I figure, why not have them do that in French instead?  It’s an authentic speaking activity.  They’re doing it in English, after all!  So, I decided to have them do cercles intérieurs / extérieurs to speak to each other about things that they did during the break.

They were explaining their March Break activities with each rotation.  There was an added benefit that I wasn’t aware of at the time that I thought of it — students were repeating their stories over and over, so they were practicing and as I walked around and helped them with vocabulary and their sentence structures, they got better each time they did it.

We then did a mise en commun so that I could hear about their travels and activities.  It was nice to see them making the effort and helping each other out too.  It wasn’t all in French, so I had to keep them on their toes and get them to revert back to the French.  All in all, it worked well.

About Mme Martin

I am a high school French teacher in Ontario, Canada. I've been a teacher for the last 14 years and I love what I do. I am always looking for ways to improve my teaching by learning from my colleagues, reading, attending conferences and workshops. I also completed a Masters of Education degree, specializing in Second Language Acquisition. My goal is to increase students' oral fluency in French and I would like to share this journey with you in the hopes that you will find new ideas and be inspired to do the same. I will let you know what I try in my classes and what works and what doesn't. I hope you will find a wealth of ideas to use in your class.
This entry was posted in Education, French, High School, Teaching and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

