Embarking on a new technological adventure…

I am venturing into something new for me, technologically speaking.  I’m in the process of trying to set up some wikis so that teachers can share resources and ideas.  Since this is all so new to me, it may take me awhile to get things set up and to post some things myself, but hopefully I can work on it this weekend and it will be ready to go for next week.  I’ll let you know as soon as it’s ready to go.

One way I’ve attempted to use wikis with my classes is story writing.  I divide the class into groups of 3 students and each student in the group is responsible for writing one part of the story.  One student writes the introduction, the second does the body and the third does the conclusion.  When the assignment is set up as a wiki, students can read each others’ contributions to make sure that the story flows logically and that there aren’t any contradictions or parts that are repeated.  I’ve done it before, but the hardest part of this is getting the students to sign in to the class Moodle to set up the wiki in the first place!  Setting up the wiki in Moodle seems much less involved than it is with other wiki hosting services.  We’ll see how my new challenge goes…

Enjoy the last couple of days of the March Break.

About Mme Martin

I am a high school French teacher in Ontario, Canada. I've been a teacher for the last 14 years and I love what I do. I am always looking for ways to improve my teaching by learning from my colleagues, reading, attending conferences and workshops. I also completed a Masters of Education degree, specializing in Second Language Acquisition. My goal is to increase students' oral fluency in French and I would like to share this journey with you in the hopes that you will find new ideas and be inspired to do the same. I will let you know what I try in my classes and what works and what doesn't. I hope you will find a wealth of ideas to use in your class.
This entry was posted in Education, French, High School, Teaching and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Embarking on a new technological adventure…

  1. Woah this blog is fantastic i love studying your posts. Keep up the good work! You recognize, many persons are looking round for this info, you can aid them greatly.

Leave a Reply

