Talking Points newsletter

I have spent the weekend trying to get a grab button in place on my blog, and I finally did it last night.  I’ve been trying for the last couple of weeks, but I was determined to get it done this weekend.  I had many, many failed attempts…too many to count!   Success came with a Google search that resulted in stumbling upon a site called  “Grab My Button” Code Generator.  It was so easy and worked the first time I did it.  If any of you would like an easy way to create a button with a copy and paste code such as the one you see on the right, you should definitely check it out.

I’m so new to blogging and it’s taking me a while to get everything in place the way I would like it.  It’s been such a huge learning curve, but I’m really enjoying it.

Now, back to the business of teaching French to high school students….

I’m not sure if you’ve had a chance to look at my blogroll yet, but if you do, I highly recommend going over to World Language Classroom Resources.  There are so many ideas there with a ton of really useful and interesting resources.  I just finished reading the February newsletter on that blog called Talking Points.

The topic of this particular newsletter is Foreign Language Assessment.  I think that it is really well written.   It has lists of tasks that help teachers distinguish between activities that demonstrate what students know about a language and what students can do with a language.  I found it very useful and I highly recommend it!  I was also happy to see that the author, Josué, and I share the same philosophy about providing a balance between teaching and assessing what students need to know and what students can do with a language.  I’d love to hear your thoughts on the topic…

I hope everyone is enjoying their March Break so far.

Thanks for stopping by.

About Mme Martin

I am a high school French teacher in Ontario, Canada. I've been a teacher for the last 14 years and I love what I do. I am always looking for ways to improve my teaching by learning from my colleagues, reading, attending conferences and workshops. I also completed a Masters of Education degree, specializing in Second Language Acquisition. My goal is to increase students' oral fluency in French and I would like to share this journey with you in the hopes that you will find new ideas and be inspired to do the same. I will let you know what I try in my classes and what works and what doesn't. I hope you will find a wealth of ideas to use in your class.
This entry was posted in Education, French, High School, Teaching and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

