A professional development video from Ontario

Happy Friday everyone!

I’ve been meaning to talk about a video series that has been put out by the Ontario Ministry of Education called “On est capable” for some time now, and I thought that I would take that opportunity today.

Here in Ontario, we’ve been waiting for our revised French as a Second Language curriculum for quite some time now.  We really don’t know all the details, but the big change will be to help teachers increase students’ oral proficiency in French.  That was the inspiration for creating this blog.

I really enjoyed watching the videos because there are many great tips.  For instance, one teacher has his students show their level of understanding of whatever it is they are doing in class using their hands.  If everyone in the class shows 4 or 5 fingers, he knows that they can move forward.  If a few students are showing 2 or 3, then he knows that he needs to work with those students to give them extra support.  I thought that this was a great way to differentiate.  He also mentions that students need tons of input.   I had said in one of my first posts that my goal from now on was “tons of input, tons of output!”  It was nice to see that he agrees with that philosophy.  That’s why I speak to my classes in French most of the time in Core French and 100% of the time in French Immersion.

I still believe we need to give students the tools that they need in order to perform those oral activities.  I find that, at least my students, tend to ask for the explanations, practice sheets, and even more practice sheets.  Once I have that new curriculum document in my hands, my thoughts on the topic might change, but for now, I’m trying to strike a balance between the two.  Who knows, I may change my mind completely as I embark on this journey…

I would like to wish you all an absolutely wonderful and relaxing March Break!

Thanks for reading!

About Mme Martin

I am a high school French teacher in Ontario, Canada. I've been a teacher for the last 14 years and I love what I do. I am always looking for ways to improve my teaching by learning from my colleagues, reading, attending conferences and workshops. I also completed a Masters of Education degree, specializing in Second Language Acquisition. My goal is to increase students' oral fluency in French and I would like to share this journey with you in the hopes that you will find new ideas and be inspired to do the same. I will let you know what I try in my classes and what works and what doesn't. I hope you will find a wealth of ideas to use in your class.
This entry was posted in Education, French, High School, Teaching and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

