Field trip to a French restaurant

Today we took our grades 10, 11 and 12 Core French students to a French restaurant.

I love this activity because students use the vocabulary and the grammatical structures they learn in class in an authentic and practical situation.  Increasing their confidence when they speak French is so important and when they are able to communicate, it really makes them feel good about themselves.  They all ordered their meals in French.   It also exposes them to some French culture by giving them the opportunity to try some authentic French dishes.

Here’s what I had:

Chicken in a mushroom cream sauce over rice.

Students also had the choice of a ham and cheese-filled crepe, or pasta with a vegetable sauce.

And for dessert…

Pouding chômeur

I wish there were more places where we could take our students so that they could be immersed in the language outside of the classroom for longer periods of time, but living in an anglophone environment, it’s difficult.  We do our best though…

The students were really appreciative and enjoyed the outing.

À demain, mes amis!

About Mme Martin

I am a high school French teacher in Ontario, Canada. I've been a teacher for the last 14 years and I love what I do. I am always looking for ways to improve my teaching by learning from my colleagues, reading, attending conferences and workshops. I also completed a Masters of Education degree, specializing in Second Language Acquisition. My goal is to increase students' oral fluency in French and I would like to share this journey with you in the hopes that you will find new ideas and be inspired to do the same. I will let you know what I try in my classes and what works and what doesn't. I hope you will find a wealth of ideas to use in your class.
This entry was posted in Education, French, High School, Teaching and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

