Have you heard of “Animoto”?

Hi everyone!

Animoto is a website that allows you to create the most amazing videos in very little time, all for free.  As teachers, not only do we get special teacher accounts that allow us to create 5 minute videos, but our students get to use it as well!  When you sign up for a free teacher account, you receive an e-mail with a special code for students to log in.  They can complement traditional PowerPoint presentations with a video they can easily create themselves.  It is very simple to use.  Just be sure that you scroll to the bottom of the home page and click “Education” in order to get the teacher account if you’d like to sign up.

Here’s how it works –there are “templates” to choose from and you upload photos, write in your text, choose a song from their playlist or upload your own song and voilà–your finished video is put together for you and e-mailed directly to you.  That’s it!  You have to see it to believe how amazing the results can be.  So far, only my students have used it for their presentations.  They can’t record themselves, so they present in French and then show the video they’ve created on their topic at some point during the presentation.

On a more personal note, I’ve also used Animoto to create my children’s birthday party invitations.  The possibilities are endless…

Here is a short video I created to show you what it can do:

France video

Thanks for stopping by!

About Mme Martin

I am a high school French teacher in Ontario, Canada. I've been a teacher for the last 14 years and I love what I do. I am always looking for ways to improve my teaching by learning from my colleagues, reading, attending conferences and workshops. I also completed a Masters of Education degree, specializing in Second Language Acquisition. My goal is to increase students' oral fluency in French and I would like to share this journey with you in the hopes that you will find new ideas and be inspired to do the same. I will let you know what I try in my classes and what works and what doesn't. I hope you will find a wealth of ideas to use in your class.
This entry was posted in Education, French, High School, Teaching and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

