French idioms

Hi everyone!

I’m at home suffering through a case of strep throat, so today I thought that I would  suggest a really great resource on French idioms.  It’s called 101 French idioms by Cassagne and Nisset.  Each page has a picture of the expression drawn out literally.  For instance, the expression “tomber dans les pommes” has a picture of a lady falling backwards into a pile of apples.  “Sauter du coq à l’âne” has a picture of a rooster on one side, a donkey on the other and a person in mid-air jumping between the two animals.  The drawings are quite funny!

Above each of these drawings, there is a literal translation of the expression, and then underneath the drawing, it states what it really means.   There are also short dialogues or paragraphs where the expressions are used in context.  The way I use this book is I photocopy some of the pages on to a transparency and I use Post-it notes to cover the expression and what it really means.  The only thing students see is the funny drawings.  Their reactions to the drawings are priceless!  I try to get them to figure out what the expression is and then what it means.  This activity certainly gets them speaking in French!  After a few of them, they start to get the hang of it.  I was going to do this activity today, but I need to get better and not get my colleagues sick either…

When I try it with my grade 11/12 class, I’ll let you know how it goes.

About Mme Martin

I am a high school French teacher in Ontario, Canada. I've been a teacher for the last 14 years and I love what I do. I am always looking for ways to improve my teaching by learning from my colleagues, reading, attending conferences and workshops. I also completed a Masters of Education degree, specializing in Second Language Acquisition. My goal is to increase students' oral fluency in French and I would like to share this journey with you in the hopes that you will find new ideas and be inspired to do the same. I will let you know what I try in my classes and what works and what doesn't. I hope you will find a wealth of ideas to use in your class.
This entry was posted in Education, French, High School, Teaching and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

