L’homme qui plantait des arbres…

Today I continued with my pre-reading activities for L’homme qui plantait des arbres.  We discussed the vocabulary and I found some great activities online already prepared.  What a great help!  I had students read the first two paragraphs and classify the places that are mentioned (i.e., rivers, mountains, provinces, etc…).  Then, they had to locate these places on a map and draw lines between them to define the area in which the story takes place.  I then had them read the first few pages and answer the questions for homework.

Here are the links to the activities I found online:

Activités

This site has pre-reading activities, vocabulary lists and comprehension questions that are ready to use!  I found it very useful.  I’m using most of it as is.  I really like the fact that the activities put grammar in context, as well as develop critical thinking skills.

Littecole.free.fr

A series of handouts already prepared with the answers provided as well. I used the first activity as is, and I’ll be using certain parts of the other activities as well.

L’homme qui plantait des arbres-Texte intégral

You can find the entire text by clicking the link above.

I hope you find these resources as useful as I do!  It has saved me so much time and the activities are just great.

At Teacher pay Teachers, I purchased 12 activities for only $14 today!  I can’t wait to use some of my purchases.  I’ll be using one as soon as tomorrow in my grade 9 Immersion class.  They will be creating a story in the passé composé with the verb prompts that are given to them.  I can’t wait to see how it turns out…

À demain!

About Mme Martin

I am a high school French teacher in Ontario, Canada. I've been a teacher for the last 14 years and I love what I do. I am always looking for ways to improve my teaching by learning from my colleagues, reading, attending conferences and workshops. I also completed a Masters of Education degree, specializing in Second Language Acquisition. My goal is to increase students' oral fluency in French and I would like to share this journey with you in the hopes that you will find new ideas and be inspired to do the same. I will let you know what I try in my classes and what works and what doesn't. I hope you will find a wealth of ideas to use in your class.
This entry was posted in Education, French, High School, Teaching and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

