“The Queen of French Grammar”

Today I took inspiration from a video I watched over the summer called “The Queen of French Grammar”.  I wanted my grade 9 Immersion class to practice the passé composé, but I wanted them to use it in a practical way and I remembered the activity I had seen in the video where the teacher had the students write down questions–one in the present tense and the other in either the passé composé or the futur proche.  She then had students circulate and ask each other their questions.  I decided to watch the video again for some inspiration and to refresh my memory on how the activity worked.

I modified the activity for my purposes.  I gave each student an index card and asked them to write two questions, both in the passé composé, using inversion and using an irregular participe passé with avoir verbs only.  They had a list with the participes passés in front of them and I told them that they had to use 2 different verbs from that list.  They were to create questions about things that they wanted to know about their classmates.  I walked around as they worked helping them to formulate the questions and make any adjustments or corrections that were necessary.  Some of them got really creative!  I also found out some interesting things about them.  One of my students is a budding writer!  She has written a book and is in the process of having it published.  I found out who the athletes are and which students are avid readers.  At the end of the activity, I got some really positive feedback about it.  They really liked it.  I’ll have to try it again with the être verbs tomorrow.

Getting back to the video, I also really like the teacher’s use of the Smartboard.  She has some fantastic ideas!  I’m only beginning to use the Smartboard and hope to get some PD so that I can use it more frequently in my class.

Here is the video.  I hope you find it as inspiring as I did.

About Mme Martin

I am a high school French teacher in Ontario, Canada. I've been a teacher for the last 14 years and I love what I do. I am always looking for ways to improve my teaching by learning from my colleagues, reading, attending conferences and workshops. I also completed a Masters of Education degree, specializing in Second Language Acquisition. My goal is to increase students' oral fluency in French and I would like to share this journey with you in the hopes that you will find new ideas and be inspired to do the same. I will let you know what I try in my classes and what works and what doesn't. I hope you will find a wealth of ideas to use in your class.
This entry was posted in Education, French and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “The Queen of French Grammar”

  1. Kimberley says:

    This is a great video. She really keeps the pace up in her room!

Leave a Reply

