L’acquisition de concepts

Today I reviewed the passé composé with my grade 9 Immersion class.  In order to introduce it, I used a Concept Attainment activity.  I’ve used it several times now and I find it works well.  I give students a copy of the sheet and I do about 4 or 5 exemples with them.  The OUI column represents verbs that take être in the passé composé.  The NON column represents the verbs that take avoir in the passé composé.  For verbs like monter, entrer and descendre, I check off both columns.  I don’t tell them in advance what the columns represent.  It is up to them to figure it out based on the few examples I give them.

My goal was to get them to think about what they already know about the passé composé and take it a step further by explaining that certain verbs can take avoir as well as être.  I also like to ask them what the verbs that have been checked off as using être have in common.  This helps them see how the verbs are related.  I try to get them to tell me that they are all verbs of movement.  They are able to see it once they look at all the être verbs are checked off.  Even if they don’t see it at first, once someone gives the answer, they all say: “Ohh…I see it now!”

All this review is setting them up for some speaking activities that will be done later this week and next.

I hope you’ll give this activity a try in your class!  Enjoy…

About Mme Martin

I am a high school French teacher in Ontario, Canada. I've been a teacher for the last 14 years and I love what I do. I am always looking for ways to improve my teaching by learning from my colleagues, reading, attending conferences and workshops. I also completed a Masters of Education degree, specializing in Second Language Acquisition. My goal is to increase students' oral fluency in French and I would like to share this journey with you in the hopes that you will find new ideas and be inspired to do the same. I will let you know what I try in my classes and what works and what doesn't. I hope you will find a wealth of ideas to use in your class.
This entry was posted in Education, French and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

