Discussion of Les Tuche and Rose Latulipe

I had the opportunity today to discuss the film Les Tuche with my grade 9 Immersion class.  I asked them if they liked it and they did!  I was so happy that they enjoyed it.  I led a discussion in class where we talked about the various themes of the film such as poverty, the clash between social classes, money and the importance of family.  I asked students to pick two of the main characters.  I had them do a quick character analysis because I wanted them to discuss the stereotypes that the characters represent.  The goal was to develop their critical thinking skills.  The activity worked well and they all seemed to want to talk about the head of the Tuche clan, Jeff and the youngest Tuche, Donald.  We had just finished doing adjectives in class, so having the students describe the characters using adjectives really put the grammar point in context, which for me is always extremely important.

I was also able to link today’s Mardi gras festivities in Louisiana with the famous legend Rose Latulipe from Quebec.  I always like to bring in cultural notes and link them to what we’re doing in class.  We talked about what Mardi gras is and then related it to the story.  If you’re not familiar with the story, Rose goes to the Mardi gras ball at her parish, but at midnight, she needs to stop dancing because Lent begins at midnight.  A handsome young stranger arrives at the ball and she dances with him.  He is the devil in disguise and tempts her into dancing past midnight.  I didn’t plan to read Rose Latulipe just because it is Mardi gras today.  It just happened to work out that way.  I love when that happens!  We also took it a step further and talked about the concept of fasting in various religions.  I could see students getting excited talking about their own religious practices and relating them to what we were talking about in class.  It was a truly rewarding class today.

About Mme Martin

I am a high school French teacher in Ontario, Canada. I've been a teacher for the last 14 years and I love what I do. I am always looking for ways to improve my teaching by learning from my colleagues, reading, attending conferences and workshops. I also completed a Masters of Education degree, specializing in Second Language Acquisition. My goal is to increase students' oral fluency in French and I would like to share this journey with you in the hopes that you will find new ideas and be inspired to do the same. I will let you know what I try in my classes and what works and what doesn't. I hope you will find a wealth of ideas to use in your class.
This entry was posted in Education, French and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

