Cercles intérieurs et extérieurs

Today I was able to do the second half of my Qu’est-ce que l’art? activity, but with a full class this time!  It worked so well.  Both the grade 11 and 12 students were talking to each other, which is always such a challenge in a combined class.  The older ones are usually much more confident and the younger ones are intimidated.   I believe the grade elevens are starting to feel more comfortable and confident in class.

This is the first time that I’ve taught the combined class where I do an activity with the class as a whole and I’m finding that this strategy is working well.  I just hope that I’ll be able to think of enough ideas to keep me going the entire semester!  The other thing is, if I teach the course again next year, my grade elevens will then be my grade twelves, and I can’t exactly do the exact same activities.  If I plan this year and next, at least I’ll be able to use the material every other year.  I have a long road ahead of me, but I think that it will be worth it in the end if my students leave the course with more confidence in their speaking skills.

Tomorrow I will have a movie review for you!  We are taking a large group of students to see a movie called Les Tuche.  It’s a comedy about a poor family who wins millions in the lottery and have difficulty handling their new-found wealth.  I’ll let you know how it goes…

Here’s the official movie trailer…

About Mme Martin

I am a high school French teacher in Ontario, Canada. I've been a teacher for the last 14 years and I love what I do. I am always looking for ways to improve my teaching by learning from my colleagues, reading, attending conferences and workshops. I also completed a Masters of Education degree, specializing in Second Language Acquisition. My goal is to increase students' oral fluency in French and I would like to share this journey with you in the hopes that you will find new ideas and be inspired to do the same. I will let you know what I try in my classes and what works and what doesn't. I hope you will find a wealth of ideas to use in your class.
This entry was posted in Education, French and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

