A video and only half a class…

I decided to start today’s combined class off with a Yabla video on Annie Chartrand entitled “Grandir bilingue”.  Unfortunately, only half the class was there due to a DECA competition!  Oh well… I went ahead as planned.  In this video, Annie describes her childhood, which is perfect for reviewing the imparfait, passé composé and plus-que-parfait.  The plus-que-parfait was actually review for the grade 12 students and I asked the grade 11 students to figure out the grammatical structure based on the formation of the verb and the context.  They guessed correctly!  Hopefully that will make the more formal introduction a lot smoother.

The same students will be away tomorrow, so it will be a small class again.  I’d like to have them do a speaking activity, but they are quite shy, so I don’t think that’s feasible.  I’ll have to come up with something else.  I’ll let you know in tomorrow’s post…

I also signed up today for the OMLTA (Ontario Modern Language Teachers’ Association) conference, which will take place March 29-31.  I haven’t been to an OMLTA conference in a few years, so it will be nice to get some new ideas and of course, spend money on resources at the displays!

About Mme Martin

I am a high school French teacher in Ontario, Canada. I've been a teacher for the last 14 years and I love what I do. I am always looking for ways to improve my teaching by learning from my colleagues, reading, attending conferences and workshops. I also completed a Masters of Education degree, specializing in Second Language Acquisition. My goal is to increase students' oral fluency in French and I would like to share this journey with you in the hopes that you will find new ideas and be inspired to do the same. I will let you know what I try in my classes and what works and what doesn't. I hope you will find a wealth of ideas to use in your class.
This entry was posted in Education, French and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

